Comprised of elected Consortium Members and IES Abroad staff, the Academic Council oversees IES Abroad program quality control by setting educational policy for IES Abroad, advising the IES Abroad President concerning all academic matters, and providing for systematic contact between the Member institutions and IES Abroad both abroad and in the United States.

Academic Council members serve a three-year staggered term. It consists of seven member coordinators, a representative of the IES Abroad staff, the Chair of the General Conference, a coordinator from the IES Abroad School of Record, and the President.

Academic Council Members

Background Image Mask
Greg D. Hess

Chair • IES Abroad

Background Image Mask
Ted Pagano

Ex-Officio, Voting Member • University of Rochester

Background Image Mask
Elsa Wehage

Secretary • IES Abroad

Background Image Mask
Miguel Ayllon ('20-'22)

University of Missouri

Background Image Mask
Rochelle Keesler ('20-'22)

Lafayette College

Background Image Mask
J. Kline Harrison ('19-'21)

Chair of General Conference • Wake Forest University

Background Image Mask
Ali Janicek ('19-'21)

Franklin & Marshall College

Background Image Mask
Kristen Mallory ('19-'21)

Claremont McKenna College

Background Image Mask
Kelly O'Sullivan Sommer ('19-'21)

University of California, San Diego

Background Image Mask
Mark Rush ('18-'21)

Washington and Lee University

Background Image Mask
Christine Wintersteen ('18-'21)

Bowdoin College

Discover Program Assessments

Learn how the Academic Council helps maintain program quality.

Learn More